

Published on MTS Intranet (https://mtsnet.demosite.us)

 $\underline{\mathsf{Home}} > \mathsf{MTS} \ \mathsf{Welcomes} \ \mathsf{New} \ \mathsf{Board} \ \mathsf{of} \ \mathsf{Directors} \ \mathsf{and} \ \mathsf{New} \ \mathsf{Leadership}$

Thursday, January 26, 2023

Group photo of MTS Board Members

San Diego - Today, the Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) Board of Directors held its first meeting of the year and welcomed several new members to its ranks. In its first action, the Board voted unanimously to elect San Diego Councilmember Stephen Whitburn (District 3) as new Vice Chair and San Diego City Council President Pro Tem Monica Montgomery Steppe (District 4) as Chair Pro Tem. Additionally, MTS welcomed seven new primary members to its Board of Directors: San Diego City Councilmember Stephen Whitburn, Chula Vista Mayor John McCann, Chula Vista Councilmember Carolina Chavez, Imperial Beach Councilmember Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez, Coronado Councilmember Mike Donovan, La Mesa Councilmember Patricia Dillard and National City Councilmember Marcus Bush.

"I am looking forward to working with the MTS Board of Directors in 2023," said Nathan Fletcher, MTS Board Chair and San Diego County Supervisor. "We have a good mix of new members who can bring new perspectives and fresh energy. We also have members who have been on this Board for a while, and have a sound understanding of the agency's challenges and priorities. We are excited to get to work, and ensure MTS continues in a positive direction to help the residents we serve."

"I am really excited about the leadership in place at MTS," said Sharon Cooney, MTS Chief Executive Officer. "The perspective and direction the MTS Board collectively offers for our transit system helps us grow and thrive. It's a critically important civic duty and I'm grateful for their commitment to MTS. We have many important projects happening in 2023 and our Board will play an active role in seeing these projects advance."

Among the priority projects and initiatives the agency and Board will be working on in 2023 include:

- Continuing a path to recover ridership lost from the pandemic
- Managing the agency's \$380 million annual budget
- Prioritizing projects in the agency's \$100 million Capital Improvement Program
- Prioritizing capital improvements resulting from the agency's Social Equity Listening Tour
- Making enhancements to the agency's new fare collection system, PRONTO
- Overseeing the successful launch of Iris *Rapid* in the South Bay an all-electric, high-frequency route between the Otay Mesa border and Imperial Beach<
- Advancing the agency's Transit Oriented Development portfolio, to help address the region's housing shortage

The agency's 15-member Board generally meets once per month. MTS Board Members are elected representatives, and are appointed to the MTS Board by the local government voting bodies they serve on. The MTS Board appointments include:

- Four appointed from the City of San Diego (the Mayor of San Diego and three San Diego City Councilmembers)
- Two appointed from the City of Chula Vista (the Mayor of Chula Vista and one Chula Vista City Councilmember)
- One appointed from each city council of Coronado, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, National City, Poway and Santee
- One appointed from the San Diego County Board of Supervisors

The MTS Board today also voted to appoint members to its slate of committees. Committees include:

- Accessible Services Advisory Committee (ASAC)
- Airport Authority Advisory Committee
- Audit Oversight Committee
- Budget Development Committee
- Executive Committee
- Los Angeles-San Diego-San Luis Obispo Rail Corridor Agency (LOSSAN)
- Public Security Committee
- San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) Board
- SANDAG Regional Planning Committee
- SANDAG Transportation Committee
- San Diego Regional Building Authority
- Taxicab Advisory Committee

Board members group photo from left to right: San Diego City Council President Pro Tem Monica Montgomery Steppe, La Mesa Councilmember Patricia Dillard, San Diego City Council President Sean Elo-Rivera, El Cajon Councilmember Steve Goble, Santee City Councilmember Ronn Hall, Chula Vista Mayor John McCann, San Diego County Supervisor Nathan Fletcher, Chula Vista Councilmember Carolina Chavez, San Diego Councilmember Vivian Moreno, Imperial Beach City Councilmember Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez, Lemon Grove City Councilmember Jennifer Mendoza (alternate), Coronado City Councilmember Mike Donavan, Poway City Councilmember Caylin Frank, San Diego City Councilmember Stephen Whitburn, National City Councilmember Marcus Bush

About MTS

The Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) operates more than 100 bus routes and three Trolley lines in 10 cities and unincorporated areas of San Diego. MTS is a leader in advancing initiatives to create a greener, cleaner and better-connected transit system in San Diego. Each weekday more than 200,000 passenger trips are taken throughout the MTS system taking people to work, school, health appointments and other essential trips. In FY 2022, MTS served more than 57 million riders. For service schedule updates, news, alerts and more information on how you can

###

News Category:

San Diego

Source URL:https://mtsnet.demosite.us/news/mts-welcomes-new-board-directors-and-new-leadership