

Published on MTS Intranet (https://mtsnet.demosite.us)

Home > MTS Welcomes Two New Board Members and Alternate

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Selection process begins to replace six gaps left last month by election

Two new MTS Board members were named Thursday, with an additional alternate named as well. Coronado Councilman Al Ovrom and Poway Councilwoman Merrilee Boyack were selected to serve by their cities. Also, Poway Councilman Jim Cunningham will serve as an alternate.

"These board members are coming at a time when the call for public transportation is high, but operating dollars are constrained," said MTS Chairman Harry Mathis. "We welcome the new expertise and ideas that these members bring to MTS to further our goals."

Coronado Councilman Al Ovrom replaces Phil Monroe. A graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, Ovrom previously served on the MTS board from December 1998 to December 2000 as a member of the Coronado Unified School Board (1986-1994), on the Planning Commission (1994-1996), and the City Council (1996-2000).

Poway Councilwoman Merrilee Boyack replaces Robert Emery. A graduate of University of Santa Clara Law School, Boyack works as an attorney and a life coach and is a published author and professional lecturer. Merrilee Boyack was elected to the Poway City Council in November 2004. Prior to joining the Council, Boyack was involved in local government as a member of the City's Budget Review Committee and the Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee.

Cunningham is a graduate of the Western State College of Law and works as a partner at a law firm. He has served in many capacities on the Leukemia Lymphoma Society, most recently as the vice president of the San Diego and Hawaii Chapter.

Six members of the MTS Board departed last month when their city council terms ended. The MTS Board usually meets twice a month.

The Metropolitan Transit System's Board of Directors is comprised of 15 members that represent San Diego County. Four of the members are selected by the San Diego City Council, nine are appointed from municipal city councils – one from each of Chula Vista, Coronado, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, National City, Poway and Santee. Also one is appointed from the San Diego County Board of Supervisors. The Chairman is a resident of San Diego, selected by the board members.

The San Diego Metropolitan Transit System transports millions of San Diegans every year with over 90 bus routes and 53 miles of rail. For further information on fares, routes, and schedules, or to plan a trip, visit www.sdmts.com or contact 511.

News Category:

San Diego

Source URL: https://mtsnet.demosite.us/news/mts-welcomes-two-new-board-members-and-alternate